Guest Artist: Ann DuHamel, piano | WisCommunity

Pianist Ann DuHamel's performances have been praised as poetic and "… a delight for the ears and the soul" (Encuentro Universitario Internacional de Saxofón, Mexico City). Hailed as a "forward thinking classical pianist" (Midwest Record (http://midwestrecord.com/MWR1709.html)) for her debut album Rückblick: New Piano Music Inspired by Brahms (https://furiousartisans.com/catalog/ruckblick-new-piano-music-inspired-b...) (Furious Artisans, 2020), she actively champions contemporary composers, recently commissioning works by Marc Chan (http://www.marcchanmusic.com/), Flannery Cunningham (http://flannerycunningham.com/bio), Jocelyn Hagen (https://www.jocelynhagen.com/project/premiere-of-variations-on-a-theme-b...), Edie Hill (https://www.ediehill.com/), and Tyler Kline (https://www.tylerklinemusic.com/), among others. Ann has performed and presented in 16 countries on 4 continents, including Sala Verdi in Milan, Italy; the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, Finland; and Trinity College in Oxford, England. In demand as a collaborative pianist, Ann's performed chamber music with members of the Minnesota Orchestra and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, as well as with Martha Councell-Vargas (https://www.marthacouncell.com/), flute; Preston Duncan (http://www.prestonsaxophone.com/about), saxophone; and Clara Osowski (http://www.claraosowski.com/bio), mezzo-soprano. Her performance at Carnegie Weill Recital Hall with ensemble: Périphérie (https://ensembleperipherie.wordpress.com/about/) was lauded by the New York Concert Review as “outstanding," praising the group of "superb musicians" who "played with power and assurance." Ann's latest project, "Prayers for a Feverish Planet," features 60 new works for piano and piano/electronics about climate change. Ann is Associate Professor of Music at the University of Minnesota Morris (https://academics.morris.umn.edu/music/music-faculty), and serves as Immediate Past President of Minnesota Music Teachers Association (https://www.mnmusicteachers.com/). She earned the Doctorate of Musical Arts degree at the University of Iowa (https://music.uiowa.edu/) under the tutelage of Ksenia Nosikova (http://www.ksenia-nosikova.com/index.html). This event is free and open to the public.

Add comment

Date

Oct 2 2022 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Gantner Concert Hall, Haas Fine Arts Center
randomness